Handout 3

Maritime boundary of India

India has signed 12 maritime treaties with all five of its neighbours on opposite coasts—nine bilateral treaties with Maldives (1976), Sri Lanka (1974 and 1976 (2)), Indonesia (1974 and 1977), Thailand (1978 and 1993), and Myanmar (1986) (Table 1), and three trilateral treaties with Sri Lanka and Maldives (1976), Indonesia and Thailand (1978), and Myanmar and Thailand (1993) (Table 1). (Table 2). As a consequence, India's maritime borders with four of these five states are complete; the only exception is Myanmar, which requires a trilateral agreement to identify its trijunction point with India and Bangladesh. Nevertheless, this requires that the maritime border issue between India and Bangladesh be resolved first.

Table 1: India's Bilateral Agreements on Maritime Boundary Delimitation

Name of Country	Date of Signature	Nature of Agreement	Entry into Force
Indonesia	August 8, 1974	Relating to the Delimitation of the Continental Shelf Boundary between the Two Countries	December 17, 1974
	January 14, 1977	On the Extension of the 1974 Continental Shelf Boundary between the Two Countries in the Andaman Sea and the Indian Ocean	August 15, 1997
Maldives	December 28, 1976	On the Maritime Boundary in the Arabian Sea and Related Matters	June 8, 1978
Myanmar	December 23, 1986	On the Delimitation of the Maritime Boundary in the Andaman Sea, in the Coco Channel, and in the Bay of Bengal	September 14, 1987
Sri Lanka	June 26/28, 1974	On the Boundary in Historic Waters between the Two Countries and Related Matters	July 8, 1974
	March 23, 1976	On the Maritime Boundary between the Two Countries in the Gulf of Manaar and the Bay of Bengal and Related Matters	May 10, 1976
	November 22, 1976	Supplementary Agreement on the Extension of the Maritime Boundary between the Two Countries in the Gulf	February 5, 1977

		of Manaar from position 13m to the Trijunction point between India, Sri Lanka, and Maldives (Point T)	
Thailand	June 22, 1978	On the Delimitation of the Seabed Boundary between the Two Countries in the Andaman Sea	December 15, 1978
	October 27, 1993	On the Maritime Boundary between the Two Countries in the Andaman Sea from Point 7 to the Trijunction Point (Point T) between India, Thailand, and Myanmar	January 17, 1996

Table 2. India's Trilateral Agreements on Maritime Boundary Delimitation

Name of Countries	Date of Signature	Nature of Agreement	Entry into Force
Sri Lanka and Maldives	July 24, 1976	Concerning the Determination of the Trijunction Point between the Three Countries in the Gulf of Manaar	July 31, 1976
Indonesia and Thailand	June 22, 1978	Concerning the Determination of the Trijunction Point and the Delimitation of the Related Boundaries of the Three Countries in the Andaman Sea	March 2, 1979
Myanmar and Thailand	October 27, 1993	On the Determination of the Trijunction point between India, Myanmar and Thailand in the Andaman Sea	May 24, 1995

India's coastal border

Mainland

Costal Zones Of India Ministry Of Environment and Forests

UNCLOS Maritime Zones

United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea 1982

According to the United Nations Convention on the law of the sea (UNCLOS), 1982, the aquatic boundary of a country is divided into 5 parts

Internal Water

Territorial Water
Contiguous water
EEZ - Exclusive Economic Zone
High Seas
Strait
Isthmus
Bay
Gulf
India's Maritime International Boundary
Other Facts

Concepts and Analysis refer class note and discussion